“Jungle Book” Puppets

Hi folks! Sam Flint here, your trusty Properties Artisan. The Cap’n and I are deep in the jungles of the 3rd floor, carving out for ourselves a niche…  of FUN! Actually, we’re busy sculpting and carving the puppets for this season’s first Emerging Artists Ensemble production of “The Jungle Book”. I understand that Patrick Mullins, our Jungle Tour Guide, has been telling people about what a bland job we’re doing, and about how we’d better shape up! Fooled you again! He’s actually been telling people to come by the Shop to check out the puppets, and I appreciate that. But for those who may be as inclined to come see our props as I am inclined to go look at, oh, I don’t know… receipts, I present a few process shots for your Internet Viewing Pleasure.

First up, this large clay head will be the mold for the Baloo mask. Actually, it’s a head-piece. It is being sculpted by Terry, our Props Master.

Baloo Progress

Next up is Shere Kahn, the Tiger, also a large head-piece.

Shere Kahn Progress

Thirdly, I present Mother Wolf, which I am carving out of furniture foam.

Mother Wolf

And lastly, there’s this Jackal character. He’s quite sly, that one…

Jackal

In fact, just today, he escaped from the Prop Shop and went on an adventure through the 3rd floor. I was lucky enough to capture it on video, and have assembled this tasty little number right here:  Enjoy!

Published in: on August 29, 2007 at 1:33 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vastage.wordpress.com/2007/08/29/jungle-book-puppets/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment